Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 1.2 Average
Advice (and Guidance) for a FMG
Hi guys!

Would like some advice and guidance on the best way to achieve my lifelong goal of landing a neurosurgical residency in the States. Full disclaimer, being a FMG, I understand that the odds are stacked against me; but frankly neurosurgery is the only career that I can see myself doing for the long run, so I would really appreciate any and all comments that y'all could give me!

I'm currently in third year of med school (out of five), with a Step 1 score of 267. No pubs yet, but am working on that as of now. I lack a green card, and have no feasible way of obtaining one for the foreseeable future. I don't mind working anywhere in the States, so long as I match, and I plan to stay in the US to work even after I complete my GME.

However, my biggest problem right now is that I'm not sure whether I'll be able to get a sub-I/ elective rotation in the States. This is primarily due to my institution scheduling a non-final year slot for elective rotations, whereas almost all the US institutions (except for 3) that I've contacted require international students to be in their final year. I'm willing to defer a semester just to qualify for sub-Is, though, if there is no other way.

My question is, for someone in my situation, what would be the best course of action? If those three institutions wind up not accepting me for sub-Is, should I defer a semester just to qualify for sub-Is? Or should I graduate first, and attempt to make up for the lack of USCE via observer-ships (during my med school years) and via the various pre-residency programs (after graduation)?