Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Neurosurgery with no neuro research
Hi everybody,

I am a medical student (just became a 4th year), interested in applying into neurosurgery. The issue is I have no neurosurgery or neuroscience research. I do have plenty of research in other areas (immunology, basic science) and several first author publications (all in basic science application to clinic). I earned a PhD (nothing to do with neuroscience, or anything to do with neuro or surgery for that matter). I did do one small group project on neuroscience in my undergrad, which resulted in a poster. I am wondering what your advice is about how programs will look at this and what I can do from now until October to enhance the application.

Have any of you residents had a similar experience? (came to neurosurgery late and still matched?)

Thanks for any advice.
So why did you all of a sudden decide to go into NS? It looks to me like you feel entitled to NS. Lots of people have put in a lot of effort into meeting PDs and attending NS conferences and contributing to the field. And now you feel entitled to take away a spot because you "changed your mind." This is completely outrageous. We need dedicated people, not entitled guys who don't put in the work. 

Sorry bud, stick to family medicine.

So you just want to take someone's spot? Someone who worked harder than you? Who contributed to the field? Sorry, doesn't work that way.
I disagree vehemently with the above poster. If you decided this is your passion, it doesn't matter how late you entered. I do think it is vital to have some research in the field, especially given you are a PhD. I would start by talking to your school's PD or Chair to see what advice they have and maybe even consider taking a gap year to get the research if you are genuinely passionate.