Thread Rating:
  • 8 Vote(s) - 1.88 Average
Interview invites and likelihood of matching
Hi,
I am a student who is interested in neurosurgery. If you wouldn't mind, can you let me know with the following stats, how many interviews you think I'd get if I applied to all of the programs listed on ERAS. 
I got to Ohio State(so i have a home program) and am a top 25%student.
step 1: 252
step 2:258
I have 5 publications, none of which are basic science, but 1 of them is a first author pub and 2 are 3rd author. I also have 4 presentations.
I had mostly honors during clinicals, probably 85%
I'd say my LORs are pretty good
Thank you

P.S. I had seen a post similar to this on the forum from an apparent high schooler but actually feel like an amount of interviews id receive would be a good measurement of how competitive of an applicant I'd be. 
(08-15-2018, 02:36 PM)Mille Wrote: Hi,
I am a student who is interested in neurosurgery. If you wouldn't mind, can you let me know with the following stats, how many interviews you think I'd get if I applied to all of the programs listed on ERAS. 
I got to Ohio State(so i have a home program) and am a top 25%student.
step 1: 252
step 2:258
I have 5 publications, none of which are basic science, but 1 of them is a first author pub and 2 are 3rd author. I also have 4 presentations.
I had mostly honors during clinicals, probably 85%
I'd say my LORs are pretty good
Thank you

P.S. I had seen a post similar to this on the forum from an apparent high schooler but actually feel like an amount of interviews id receive would be a good measurement of how competitive of an applicant I'd be. 

You're that same kid!  Go play tiddly-winks with your buds.
Why does everyone think that. No I’m not that kid. Just looking for advice
I suggest you email program directors and chairs directly. They will be much more helpful than this forum. If they do not reply, just gently remind them once a week until they do.