Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
NSG but hate gen surg?
I'm a third year medical student planning on going to neurosurgery but currently hating general surgery rotation and will probably not honor. I loved my neurology and neurosurgery rotations earlier on in the year and have a great relationship with the NSG department. Is it okay to hate surgery but still want to do neurosurgery or should I jump ship to neurology?
(04-16-2019, 08:54 PM)aza3 Wrote: I'm a third year medical student planning on going to neurosurgery but currently hating general surgery rotation and will probably not honor. I loved my neurology and neurosurgery rotations earlier on in the year and have a great relationship with the NSG department. Is it okay to hate surgery but still want to do neurosurgery or should I jump ship to neurology?

I hated general surgery and only passed the rotation, i'd rather eat glass than deal with colostomies and gall bladders. Neurosurgery couldn't be more different from general surgery in every facet. I matched fine and currently love my life.
Seconded. Love neurosurg, but would rather be a radiologist than do butt surgery and choles. Got HP on surg, still matched.
It begs the question what do you hate about it but moving gen surg is not a requirement.
(04-17-2019, 06:12 AM)Focus Wrote: It begs the question what do you hate about it but moving gen surg is not a requirement.

Anatomy and procedures were uninteresting, residents were burnt out and not interested in teaching.
(04-17-2019, 06:29 AM)Guest Wrote:
(04-17-2019, 06:12 AM)Focus Wrote: It begs the question what do you hate about it but moving gen surg is not a requirement.

Anatomy and procedures were uninteresting, residents were burnt out and not interested in teaching.