Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Question about likelihood of matching.
Hey All,

So happy I found this site, as it seems like a great resource. 

I just wanted some feedback on my likelihood of actually matching.

I am a US DO student with honors in preclinical years, SSP (honors society) membership, and alot of volunteer work.

My main problem is a 216 on step 1. I know this very, very less than ideal, but it what I have to work with. I just started M-3 and my plan is to crank out good research and kill my rotation scores/Step 2. As far as research goes, I have my own project in the area of pediatric brain cancer I am going to begin working on, and I am applying to any research rotations I can for my elective time this year. I have also been fortunate enough to have two cases on my first rotation that I am publishing studies on.

I'm trying to find any opportunity to make connections in the neurosurgery world, as my school does not have a program. 

I'm remaining optimistic, but my Step 1 score often feels like a fatal blow.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated! If there's any other info needed for you to weigh in, don't hesitate to ask.
Ur fucked
(07-29-2019, 11:11 AM)uncle_herniation Wrote: Hey All,

So happy I found this site, as it seems like a great resource. 

I just wanted some feedback on my likelihood of actually matching.

I am a US DO student with honors in preclinical years, SSP (honors society) membership, and alot of volunteer work.

My main problem is a 216 on step 1. I know this very, very less than ideal, but it what I have to work with. I just started M-3 and my plan is to crank out good research and kill my rotation scores/Step 2. As far as research goes, I have my own project in the area of pediatric brain cancer I am going to begin working on, and I am applying to any research rotations I can for my elective time this year. I have also been fortunate enough to have two cases on my first rotation that I am publishing studies on.