Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Step 1 gone, CK useless
Residents at other programs, how will your program sift through applicants without Step 1, and with the current average Step 2 CK being 240? As a resident I am worried about my program trying to assess an applicant’s acumen. It’s not enough to want to do Neurosurgery, I want colleagues at the top of their game. My co-residents from all different medical school types took and excelled at Step 1. 

There’s a culture shift afoot in Neurosurgery and I don’t think it’s all good, or all portends well for the future of our field. Certainly we’ve made necessary strides in wellness, and there are still axes to grind in terms of how residents are treated, but I worry applicants are not being sold the truth of the nature of our field.
Are you implying that for one to be at the top of their game, they need to score high on the step 1? If so, I think you are wrong. So many great Neurosurgeons/physicians would prove you wrong. Look for another argument! lol
Screen with step 2 everything else will stay the same.
(07-21-2021, 11:08 PM)Guest Wrote: Are you implying that for one to be at the top of their game, they need to score high on the step 1? If so, I think you are wrong. So many great Neurosurgeons/physicians would prove you wrong. Look for another argument! lol

I dont want who would have scored a 210 as a coresident. Im not splitting hairs between a 240 and 260, thats dumb.
(07-22-2021, 06:55 AM)Guest Wrote:
(07-21-2021, 11:08 PM)Guest Wrote: Are you implying that for one to be at the top of their game, they need to score high on the step 1? If so, I think you are wrong. So many great Neurosurgeons/physicians would prove you wrong. Look for another argument! lol

I dont want who would have scored a 210 as a coresident. Im not splitting hairs between a 240 and 260, thats dumb.