Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Applicants, what are you looking for?
I’m a resident at an east coast program. I think attendings and programs have many ideas on what they think applicants are looking for in a program, but some of these ideas may be outdated. Why not ask you. What is the 2022 Neurosurgery applicant looking for in a program?
Graded autonomy, increased operative experience, less focus on less educational scut, a collegial atmosphere where all residents get along, no history of firing (firing is usually a weakness of a program instead of a person), good network of graduates. Really looking to become a family, you’ll be with them the next 7 years of your life!
I sincerely hope your family is better than what your co-residents and attendings will be. Don't look for a family, look for great colleagues and you will not be disappointed. There is a big difference.
(08-06-2021, 06:10 PM)Guest Wrote: Graded autonomy, increased operative experience, less focus on less educational scut, a collegial atmosphere where all residents get along, no history of firing (firing is usually a weakness of a program instead of a person), good network of graduates.  Really looking to become a family, you’ll be with them the next 7 years of your life!

I disagree with your point on firing. The rate of attrition is high in neurosurgery for a reason, residency is not easy. Matching into neurosurgery is not a guaranteed ticket to becoming a neurosurgeon, nor should it be. You still have to perform, and there are people who are unable to do that and if allowed to graduate will hurt patients.