Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Impact of medical school name on residency selection
Hello,

I am a rising M1 student at a top 40 medical school and am interested in neurosurgery. While this website has affirmed the idea that neurosurgery is self-selecting, I have developed an interest in the field as a result of my working in a peds nsg lab throughout undergrad and working with the PI, fellows, and residents who rotate through our lab. My question is, since I do not go to a top 10 medical school, am I at a disadvantage for top academic residencies even if I have similar scores/grades/research/AOA  an Ivy League applicant? Thanks.
There are always residents from mid level schools in top programs. That said, if you are coming from the top few like Harvard or Hopkins, then you will probably get interviews a lot easier and will be considered more seriously. But this criteria is not nearly as important than your sub-i performance, step I, LORs, grades, research and your personality.
The advantage that top schools have are very involved neurosurgery departments that can foster superb neurosurgery applicants. Schools like Columbia, Penn, Hopkins and Stanford have a plethora of research opportunities for their students and excellent mentoring for those interested in neurosurgery, on top of the connections that their chairs and PDs have. Even if you don't attend a top 10 school, getting involved with your department early and building an excellent CV is very much possible. Schools not in the so-called top tier like Rutgers, Jefferson, Case Western, and Temple match well into neurosurgery because of having involved departments that can groom solid applicants.