Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 1.75 Average
Texas
New to this forum, just curious on opinions. I'm a tx student, and I am curious how the usnews rankings for the tx programs are so vastly rearranged from ast year. Utsw went from #19 to #30, baylor st luke jumped to #15, and even bcm moved above utsw. Hell the 3 mayo locations are above the utsw ranking. How insightful are these rankings? I didn't even know baylor st Luke's was the best in Houston, let alone texas and #15 in the nation. Thoughts?
(08-07-2022, 12:41 AM)ner0 Wrote: New to this forum, just curious on opinions. I'm a tx student, and I am curious how the usnews rankings for the tx programs are so vastly rearranged from ast year. Utsw went from #19 to #30, baylor st luke jumped to #15, and even bcm moved above utsw. Hell the 3 mayo locations are above the utsw ranking. How insightful are these rankings? I didn't even know baylor st Luke's was the best in Houston, let alone texas and #15 in the nation. Thoughts?

~ top 10 are reasonable, beyond that, the list falls apart.

(08-07-2022, 12:41 AM)ner0 Wrote: New to this forum, just curious on opinions. I'm a tx student, and I am curious how the usnews rankings for the tx programs are so vastly rearranged from ast year. Utsw went from #19 to #30, baylor st luke jumped to #15, and even bcm moved above utsw. Hell the 3 mayo locations are above the utsw ranking. How insightful are these rankings? I didn't even know baylor st Luke's was the best in Houston, let alone texas and #15 in the nation. Thoughts?

~ top 10 are reasonable, beyond that, the list falls apart.
insightful into what? us news rankings are not a ranking of neurosurgery residency (eg barrow at 40), they are a ranking of the hospital based on the us news scoring algorithm. they also include neurology btw.

Not sure what rankings you are seeing. Baylor isn't at #15. It's not even listed in the top 20.
America's Best Hospitals: the 2022-2023 Honor Roll and Overview | U.S. News (usnews.com)