Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 2.6 Average
Advice for incoming MS1 interested in NSG
Hello everyone, 

I will be attending a T15 medical school with a top NSG residency program this year. I am truly interested in pursuing neurosurgery, however, I have limited research experience. I currently participate in neuro-related research at an Ivy but I have no publications so far. I understand that this is a highly academic field and not having any publications prior to med school is not ideal.

I am aware that starting med school is a big adjustment to begin with, but what are some actions that I can take in the next few years to have a chance at NSG? Thank you very much in advance!
Everything needed to match neurosurgery is well in front of you during med school. Doesn't matter if you do or don't have a few insignificant pubs from undergrad. Congrats on the acceptance. I suggest right now, including the upcoming summer before M1, you chill tf out. Don't think about med school, just relax. When you start med school, everything will fall into place and the opportunities will be laid out in front of you, it's just a matter of if you are willing to take them.
That is very reassuring. I will do my absolute best to take advantage of the opportunities. Thank you so much for your advice!
Current PGY6 here. One salient piece of advice I can offer is to effectively ignore the overwhelming majority of shenanigans and nonsense that you’ll see on this website. I’m addicted to the drama, like watching NASCAR for the crashes, hence why I’m here. But for you, find a good mentor(s) you trust for direction and guidance. Although the first responder’s advice is obviously sound.
what happens to people who never match into surgery? do they ever find happiness? I know a lot of folks who want surgery but can't get in, are they ever happy? I know many people who never get into medical school and they always seem to have a grudge, wondering if its the same in surgery?