Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Overcoming poor didactic grades as an MD PhD
Hello. I did very poorly my first two years (some Cs, rest Bs) and a low 22x step 1. Since then I've done my PhD,  with 7 first author basic research papers (no cell/nature) Inc one in science translational and 4 in neuro journals, multiple other co authorship, and 7 other papers from other experiences from.my gap and first year. All are research articles except for 3 review papers.

I'm in 3rd year now and have been networking like crazy and trying to bump up my publications with NSG faculty. Assuming I do well on Step 2 and clerkships do I have a chance especially for academic and research oriented programs? I'm trying to decide if it's even worth putting myself through the SubIs and competitive match if I have no chance. I'm considering dual applying if I go for it but I'm concerned it will look bad if I do a non surgical specialty as a back up.
I think you could match, it's impossible to say whether or not you'd get into a strong academic or research program. If you get a strong Step 2 score and/or have networked well, you definitely could get into a solid program. It also depends what med school you go to and how much respect it garners. If you really want to do neurosurgery, I wouldn't dual apply.
Just make sure you sub-i and focus on research heavy programs. This application is a huge red flag for operative heavy programs and they probably won't have interest.