Thread Rating:
  • 10 Vote(s) - 2.1 Average
Program "Tiers" and How YOU Should Actually View Our Training
Hello All,

This is my first post to this website but I thought I would interject my 2 cents. I am an outgoing chief resident at a large busy neurosurgery program in the country. I see that people are writing "tiers" and "program strength" and trying to bundle programs into places they think are where the top dogs get trained that go out into practice and are the bad boys of NSGY who get everything they want because they're the best. 

The reality is that is absolutely a false and very misleading attitude to have about the programs around the country and the "tiers" they fall into.

Here's the actual truth of what you should be looking at for programs.

1. Does the program have stable leadership - Are the people in charge going to be there for your entire training. Nothing screws the pooch more than a drama filled training program where directors and chairman are retiring and political battles ensue during the meat of your training.